Blackpool and the Lake District in the top 20 most Instagrammed landmarks outside of London

The 20 most Instagram-worthy British landmarks have been revealed and two of them are in the North West.

A study by comparethemarket.com found that Blackpool and the Lake District are among the 20 most Instagrammed British landmarks outside of London.

Stonehenge takes the top spot with more than 800,000 posts, while the Lake District came fifth in the list of the most Instagrammed places to visit with the family this summer.

According to the results, the 20 most Instagrammed landmarks outside of London are as follows, from left to right: name; location hashtag; number of positions

  • Stonehenge; Wiltshire, England; #stonehenge; 831 860
  • Scottish Glencoe; Highlands, Scotland; #Glencoe; 501 182
  • Loch Ness; Scottish Highlands, Scotland; #lochness; 460,017
  • End of the Earth; Cornwall, England; #landend; 417,563
  • Lake District National Park; Cumbria, England; #lakedistrictnationalpark; 406 953
  • Jurassic Coast; Dorset, England; #jurassiccoast; 403 138
  • Brighton Pier; East Sussex; #brightonpier; 343,217
  • The Giant’s Causeway; North Ireland; #The Giant’s Causeway; 318 917
  • Durdle Door; Dorset; #durdledoor; 273 268
  • The Cotswolds Area of ​​Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB); The Cotswolds, England; #thecotswolds; 270,912
  • Snowdonia National Park; Gwynedd, Wales; #snowdonianationalpark; 264,718
  • Ben Nevis; Scottish Highlands, Scotland; #bennevis; 233 424
  • Eden Project; Cornwall, England; #edenproject; 218,686
  • York Minster; York, England; #yorkminster; 188,709
  • Blenheim Palace; Woodstock, England; #blenheimpalace; 179,084
  • Portmeirion; Gwynedd, Wales; #portmeirion; 176,892
  • Sherwood Forest; Nottinghamshire, England; #Sherwood Forest; 163,684
  • Roman baths; Bath, England; #roman baths; 149 112
  • Blackpool Tower; Blackpool, England; #black pool tower; 134,013
  • Mont Saint Michel ; Cornwall, England; #stmichaelsmount; 131,382

Stonehenge ranks first with over 800,000 posts.

The world-famous stone circle is around 5,000 years old and is part of British history.

Scottish landmarks take second and third place, with impressive views of Glencoe (501,182) and the mysterious waters of Loch Ness (460,017).

For those looking for great places to visit in the North of England, the Lake District (406953) offers unrivaled views.

While Blackpool Tower (134,013) not only offers incredible views but also plenty of attractions.

Also in the top 20 are the stunning natural limestone arch of Durdle Door (273,268) and Northern Ireland’s only UNESCO World Heritage Site, the Giant’s Causeway, which amassed 318,917 posts on Instagram.

About Jerry Richter

Check Also

A Blackpool Combat Club main event is planned for the AEW Grand Slam

After two weeks of suspension-induced excitement, intrigue and drama, AEW has officially decided who will …